Skip to content ↓
John Ray Infant School

John RayInfant School

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Our Intent for the Foundation Stage Curriculum

At John Ray Infants we recognise that the Foundation Stage is a unique time in the development of our children’s learning. Through our Code of Conduct, our high expectations and our newly developed curriculum we aim to instil a lifelong love of learning through a wide range of play based experiences that involve children working closely with each other, our adults, and all our families.

There are 7 areas of learning within the Foundation Stage, all of them linked together, and we aim to teach these in a variety of ways in order to encourage children to become independent, curious and enthusiastic learners. Through a combination of teacher input and continuous provision opportunities, learning is planned to encourage children to develop their learning independently through exploration and challenge, both inside and outdoors.

The “Characteristics of Effective Learning” are at the heart of the Early Years Curriculum and explore the different ways in which children learn. They highlight the importance of playing and learning, active learning and thinking critically.

By the end of the Foundation Stage year our children will have developed independence, resilience, respect and responsibility as well as the skills and knowledge necessary to move onto the next stage of their learning.

Please see the attached documents for our Intent and Implementation statements for each of the Foundation Stage Areas of Learning.